Kensie Lou’s 6 month update

It seriously doesn’t seem like it’s been SIX MONTHS since my baby girl came into this world… Half a year? What? I can’t even process this right now.

But I’m going to have to. Six months ago I was carrying around this tiny 7 lb 11 oz newborn and I felt the whole world stood still that first week. But then it jumped into fast forward mode. Everyone told me “time goes so fast” but boy did I not understand how fast it could go.

Anyways.

My baby girl is six months! She can sit up unassisted, get up on all fours, sit in her high chair, and is finally beginning to eat some foods (see banana down below). She laughs at everything, but especially our dog Marvel and when playing peekaboo. She grabs necklaces, cell phones, noses, and pulls hair like she’s been doing it for years. But she has grown so much in these past few months and I am so excited to be entering this new and very active stage of her life.

Five things we’ve learned about parenting

Formula is not an enemy.  I knew I wanted to breastfeed the minute I found out I was pregnant, but I never wanted to put the pressure on myself to be afraid of formula. I always told myself “hey, give it your best shot and if it doesn’t work, that’s okay.” I mean, I was a formula baby and I’m pretty damn awesome… but then after I had Kensie I fell in love with breastfeeding. I loved all of it. And the idea of ending it or even supplementing broke my heart. Not because I didn’t want Kensie to have formula, but because I didn’t want our time to be over. So when her weight was low at her four month check up and so was my supply, I had probably one of my biggest meltdowns since becoming a mother. I put a lot of pressure on myself to get my supply as up as possible. I saw a lactation consultant, I pumped after every feeding, I took endless amounts of Fenugreek and ate all the oatmeal… I stressed so much because I didn’t want to lose that bond yet. But none of it worked. My supply just wouldn’t come back up.

You have to let go of the “Mom guilt.” So when Kensie had her first bottle of formula, I took a deep breath in and exhaled any ounce of “Mom guilt” I had.  Supplementing with formula was what she and I needed. She needed more calories and I needed to stress less about if she was eating enough. And that’s okay because our journey as mother and daughter is just that… OUR journey. Letting go of that guilt made me enjoy our journey just as much as before.  Kensington looks at me the same way when I feed her, no matter if it is from breast or bottle; she’s just happy to be fed and I’m happy to provide for her.

We’re using up our freezer stash now, and that’s a wrap for us on breastfeeding. I’m proud that we made it six months and I won’t let anyone make me feel otherwise.

FullSizeR (16)

Cribs are friends. Within the past few weeks, we’ve put Kensington to bed in her own room in her crib. It was so hard for me because she’s been just an arm’s length away from me since she was born. But Dylan convinced me it was time and honestly, she sleeps so much better now. Before we moved her, she was still getting up at least once a night but now she sleeps at least 10 hours. (Please, dear Lord don’t let me jinx that…) Plus she can roll all round, get comfy, and has much more space than she did in her bassinet. It was a hard first night, but I think we’re all sleeping better since we did it.

Being a working mom isn’t so bad. In case you haven’t heard, I got a new job! I’m working as a copywriter for a web design company and so far it’s been such a great experience. And even though it’s only three days a week… I still was SO worried about how I would feel leaving Kensie. But I find that I really enjoy that time challenging my brain and doing something other than taking pictures of my baby’s beautiful smile. Don’t get me wrong, I miss her a TON when I’m there, but I know it’s going to be a good, healthy thing for us both, even if it does mean being apart on some days.

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 10.19.06 AM

Babies eating food for the first time is SCARY. Kensington’s first food was a mushy, pureed banana and she spat out most of it. But, she did swallow a few little bits and of course gagged like crazy. (It must be so weird eating for the first time…) It scared the heck out of me and I know it’s totally normal but if I said I wasn’t scared then I’d be lying. We plan on doing a combination of Baby Led Weaning and normal baby food. We shall see how it goes… For some reason I had this glorified idea that giving baby food for the first time was going to be fun, but man is it messy, nerve-wracking, and kinda gross. Hopefully my outlook on it will change as time goes on!

Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 8.53.35 AM

Five things Kensington loves.

Peekaboo. A somewhat new love of hers, but boy does she laugh when you yell “Peekaboo!” She especially loves playing with her GyGy.  She gets this big smile on her face and you can really feel how much she loves it. Plus it’s probably the first “game” we’ve gotten to play with her… She’s seriously growing up too fast.

Being tossed in the air. I think we’ve got a thrill lover on our hands because every time we toss her up she laughs SO much. Even if she’s in the middle of crying and you toss her into the air, she laughs instantly. It’s such a fun way to cheer her up when she’s fussy or just make her laugh because I want to. You can really tell she’s having the time of her life when she’s up there, especially when her daddy tosses her.

Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 8.55.25 AM

Marvel. Well, really just dogs in general. She LOVES to watch dogs, and majority of them will make her smile if not laugh. But Marvel knows exactly what to do to get a giggle out of that baby. He’ll pick up one of his toys and shake it to no end and Kensie will laugh so hard that she snorts (which is THE CUTEST). Of course, Marvel loves her and likes to give her kisses and tries to share his toys with her. And even though, as I told you guys earlier, Kensie’s in the stage of pulling hair, Marvel doesn’t ever do anything when she pulls his hair.  Except look at me with the saddest eyes ever. But hey, what are big brothers for?

Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 8.55.02 AM

Teething toys. I don’t know that Kensington is actually teething or not (there’s no signs of teeth just yet!), but she does love to chew on her teething toys. We have a set of baby keys that are her favorite. They have some rough edges that she chews on constantly. Although really at this point anything is a teething toy because it always ends up in her mouth (oh the struggle).

Teeter-Tottering.  Kensington has become obsessed with getting up on all fours and rocking back and forth. A few times she’s pulled a little knee in front of the other (nooooo crawling yet!) but for the most part she loves rocking back and forth and bouncing some. I hate to say it, but I don’t think she’ll be doing this for too much longer… I’m sure she’s going to be crawling before we know it. So bittersweet.  

Five of our favorite moments with Kensie. 

First time sitting up unassisted. And now she’s quite the pro! I love being able to sit her down anywhere and have her be happy. She was just a week or so past four months old when she did it for the first time. She was just so over laying down like a newborn (even though I miss that…) and now that she can do it on her own, she’s a much happier baby! She’ll still take a good nose dive every now and then but for the most part, she’s got it covered. She’ll sit and bounce herself silly. I love it.

Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 10.15.47 PM.png

First Easter. Easter was such a wonderful time with Kensington. We got to visit with both sides of our family and we got to fill her first Easter basket with all the best things (except candy…). She had a bathing suit, some sunglasses, a book, a stuffed animal, and of course some hair bows! It was so much fun to build. 🙂 She even got a big ole bunny from her GyGy and she loves it.

Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 8.56.49 AM Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 8.57.02 AM Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 8.57.15 AM

First Mother’s Day. Mother’s day has been a hard day for me ever since my mother passed in 2014, but this year Kensington made it extra sweet. Dylan got me an adorable necklace and a t-shirt from one of my favorite shops and we spent the day with family. We even did a little crafting for Kensie’s GyGy who we weren’t able to see on actual Mother’s Day. And let me tell you… crafting with a five month old is HARD. But we got something together somehow and GyGy has it on her fridge now. 🙂

Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 10.17.27 PM.png

First Memorial Day. So because Dylan works retail, he had to work all Memorial Day weekend… but we did still have a good time around his work schedule. Our nephew, Finley, had a fourth birthday party and we had a game night with my siblings. On Memorial Day, Kensie and I went down to the lake with our friends and Kensie had her first coating of sunblock and her first experience with sand. She wasn’t the biggest fan of the water but she didn’t hate it. So I’ll take it!

Screen Shot 2017-06-17 at 10.19.27 AM

First time at the pool. And since Dylan wasn’t able to hang with us at the lake, we made the following day a pool day so that he could spend some time with Kensington in the water. She was adorable in her little suit and sunglasses. But she did hate the pool water very much (it was much much colder than the lake). It was fun to have our whole little family together for our first pool day! I’m sure we will have many more as the summer progresses.

Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 8.54.23 AM Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 8.53.52 AM

And that’s it! Our sweet girl is six months and I’m sure we will be planning her first birthday before we know it (just kidding, y’all know I’ve already started planning that hehe). She is everything we could ever dream of and more.

Happy half birthday sweet baby girl. We can’t wait to watch you grow more… but slow down! Xoxo.
FullSizeR (18)

 

Leave a Reply

