5 Reasons Why You Should Try Cloth Diapers

try cloth diapers

When I was pregnant, I received SO many strange looks when I told people I planned to cloth diaper. I got a lot of Good luck with that! and You’re crazy! remarks, and I even had a friend bet me $50 that we wouldn’t last with them… (Kate, pay up! hehe). In retrospect, I should’ve seen it coming. I guess I didn’t realize how intimidating cloth diapers are these days, when in reality they were such a mainstream thing only 50ish years ago. Why are we all so afraid of them now?

Well in this post, I’m going to give you five reasons why you should TRY cloth diapering. I’m not trying to convince you to throw away every single disposable diaper you have and never use one again. This post is geared towards making cloth a little less intimidating and a little more mainstream, as disposable diapers are. If all you get from these tips is a better understand in cloth diapers, I’m happy!

So let’s get to it! 5 reasons why you should give cloth diapers a good ole try:

You will save money.
I mean, that’s pretty obvious right? But sometimes I don’t think people understand just how MUCH money you save.  Let’s say you buy the generic Target brand (Up & Up) diapers in bulk for 190 diapers for $28.99, so about 15 cents per diaper. And let’s say you use 6 diapers a day, so that’s 90 cents a day spent on diapers. Really, that’s not too bad… but multiple that by 365 days and that’s $328.50 spent. Now, let’s say you don’t start potty training until your baby is two-years-old. So that’s $657 for two years worth of disposable diapers. And that’s with a generic store brand disposable diaper. If you go organic or name brands, the cost will go up.

My entire cloth diaper stash cost me $160. They will last until Kensington is potty trained and I can even use them on our next child. I really want to point out the financial benefit of cloth diapering, because it was our biggest motivation, and it is for a lot of families.

Yes, I know I need to factor in laundry detergent and water bills, but really we haven’t seen a spike in either, so for us it’s a really miniscule increase.

It’s not all or nothing. 
This is probably my biggest point to this post… It’s not all or nothing! We use disposable diapers at night still and I’m 100% okay with that. You don’t have to buy a whole stash up front like we did. Even if you just use cloth diaper a few times a day, you will be saving money and keeping more diapers out of the landfill. I think a lot of people think you either use disposables OR you use cloth diapers, but there are tons of people out there who use both and that’s just as awesome as using one or the other!

Cloth diapers have an amazing resale value.
Yes, even after they’ve been used! Cloth diapers are very easy to strip with bleach so that they can be reused. So my diaper stash will not only be able to save me money on our daughter, but the same stash will save my money on our next child! And even after we’re done diapering babies, I can sell them at a good rate, depending on their condition.  I could end up lowering the original $160 spent on our stash. And  “gently used” cloth diapers can be resold for almost the full amount that they were bought at, so there really isn’t much of a risk to try them. 🙂

They’re so stinking cute!
Seriously though, I can’t get enough of our diapers. Majority of our stash is Alva Baby and they are not only great quality, but are also so ADORABLE. I have to believe that cloth diapering would be so much more of a nuisance if the prints weren’t so cute. I love letting Kensington lounge around in that diaper-only look because they fit her perfectly and look adorable on her. We just can’t get enough!

IMG_9490

They’re much more modernized now.
If you had asked me two years ago what I knew about cloth diapers, I would’ve replied with safety pins and lots of folding because that’s how cloth diapers used to be (and can still be now, of course). BUT there are a ton of options for cloth diapers besides just folding and safety pinning. In fact, a lot of them are just like disposables in terms of how they go on. Some have velcro and some have buttons; some you stuff with inserts and some are all-in-ones that require zero stuffing or folding. They are made to be more convenient for cloth diapering mothers. You don’t have to spend too much time folding in between diaper changes; you just change them into a clean diaper, just as if it were a disposable!

Also, a lot of moderned diapers are one-sized. Our Alva Baby pocket diapers are one-sized, meaning that they use snaps to change the fit and size of the diaper. So Kensington will be able to fit into the same diapers at 8 lbs and at 35 lbs. This is super convenient because my stash should last me up until Kensie is potty trained, which saves us more money!

*BONUS: You have less “blowouts” in cloth diapers.
Yup! Those dreaded outfit-ruining diaper blowouts that run up your kids back are better contained. Gosh those blowouts are what nightmares are made of. But, with cloth diapers, they happen less! The elastic in the covers and diapers hold in the poo better than disposables, so it keeps it all in the diapers, where it should be. If that’s not a good enough reason to try cloth, I don’t know what is! 😉 

So there you have it! Five reasons to TRY cloth diapering. I hope I at least intrigued you into exploring some cloth diapering options, because it really isn’t as scary or intimidating as it appears. There are a lot of options that can save you money while making your little one as adorable as ever. 🙂 Thanks for reading! Xoxo.

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 4.49.37 PM

***Disclaimer: this post includes an item that was sent to me for free in return of a honest review on the product.

27 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why You Should Try Cloth Diapers

  1. Natalie Aubele says:

    I completely agree with all of this ! We did cloth diapers at home and then when we went out we used disposable. (I just really hated carrying around those poopy diapers haha) And they really hAVe come a long way ! My mom had used cloth diapers for me and my sisters and they were not that great then but thats just what they could afford and it worked. She had a delivery service pick them up and wash them for her which sounds great! That was the hardest part for me- cleaning those poopy ones ! lol

    Like

    • Sarah Frank says:

      My grandma always talks about how she was gifted diaper service when she had my dad and his brother (twins!). I could not imagine cleaning cloth diapers for two babies!! But I love that you used disposables out and about because it just proves my point more: it’s not all or nothing! 🙂 Thank you for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. abbeycoseattle says:

    I REALLY wanted to try cloth diapers but to be dead honest I was afraid my gag factor would be off the charts. I am very sensitive to stinky poo and thought any more involvement with it would leave me barfing on a daily basis. I feel like throw away diapers are so wasteful but at the same time they save me being able to wrap the poo up quick and never look at it again! haha

    Like

    • Sarah Frank says:

      I totally understand that! My husband is the same way, so yours truly does all the cleaning 😉 But I have a pretty good system and I get through the gross part as fast as possible! 😀

      Like

  3. Brittany| Memoirs Of A Good Thing says:

    We tried cloth diapers with my son and there were things I liked and didnt like. The biggest issue was the fact that we didn’t have a dryer so that made using cloth in winter a nightmare. Plus I noticed the pee smell was significantly stronger with cloth which was almost unbearable for me. Other than those two things I liked it. They really are adorable though! I’m actually considering trying it out again with the new baby since we will have a dryer this time 😊

    Like

  4. Mellissa says:

    I loved using cloth diapers with my two. It took me awhile to work up the courage with my first but it made potty training a breeze. I loved it so much that I started cloth diapering my second right at birth. Including when we were out and about because it was healthier and there were a LOT fewer accidents.

    Like

    • Sarah Frank says:

      I was so nervous to start with my first as well, and I didn’t want to invest in a newborn stash and one sized stash in case it was a bust, but so far it’s been awesome! We use cloth out and about and never have accidents! (knock on wood…) We love it!

      Like

  5. madrediem says:

    I really wanted to do cloth diapers for the cost savings and environmental reasons. However I don’t handle poop very well and don’t know that I could handle it so we went with disposables. I love how cute cloth diapers are though!!

    Like

  6. kayla8642 says:

    I agree with everything in this post as I use cloth diapers at my house too! 18 months in them and still am very pleased with the decision we made. Totally agree with the blowouts! the only times my son has had those is when he has been in sposies while traveling..not fun!

    Like

  7. Momma Addict says:

    This is a great post. When I had my first baby 8 million years ago, I wanted to cloth diapers. But sadly back then, things were not as plentiful and easy as they are now. What a great opportunity young moms have. Your post may be helpful to many people who are sitting on the fence.

    Like

  8. SimplyMomBailey says:

    We absolutely love cloth diapering! We definitely started with the ambitions of saving money, but the mere task of diapering quickly became a bit of hobby and addiction.

    I still love cloth diapering, and probably mostly for the last reason – we’ve never had a blow out. Leaks, yes. But I’ve never ruined an outfit from poop.

    Like

    • Sarah Frank says:

      My daughter ruined one of my favorite set of newborn Pjs when we were in disposables still and I just about cried (it was white so there’s just no coming back from it). So I totally understand that being huge motivation!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

