Kensie Lou’s 4 Month Update

Well, just as I guessed it would, these past two months have flown by! And now, my little newborn is no longer so little anymore. We’ve got an adorable, sleep regressing, laughing little four-month-old, and I can’t wait to tell you guys all about her changes.

So for starters, Kensington’s three month clothes fit her PERFECTLY though I’m am itching to put her in some of her six month summer outfits because they are SO cute (I have to remind myself to slow it down). She still loves her swing, car rides, and laughing at our pup, Marvel. We are still cloth diapering and still loving it. We haven’t bought a box of diapers since January! She still has the craziest hair, although I can finally get most of it to lay down for a day or so… Her sleep schedule has been all over the place as we’ve been battling that four month sleep regression, but for the most part, she is still a really good sleeper. She loves to be out and about and loves sitting up in our laps. Her little personality is coming through so fiercely and I cannot wait to watch this little fire-sign baby grow into herself even more over these next few months.

 

Five more things we’ve learned about parenting. 

Breastfeeding is STILL hard. I know in my last update post I said after the first month or so, it got much easier, and it did. But then I went through my first “nursing strike” where Kensington didn’t want to take my breast at all. I’m not sure if my supply dropped, or if she just wanted breast milk from a bottle, but we were struggling for a good 2-3 weeks with this. We blew through 75% of our freezer stash and even though I was nursing what little she would take, and pumping to keep my supply up, I just felt like I wasn’t going to be able to keep up with her demands. But I talked to my friend Ashley about it and she got my mind out of the “giving up” gutter and pushed me to find some answers. I researched, talked to other mamas, and I found some ways to increase my supply and Kensington and I made it through. Now, we’re in a really great spot with nursing again but I was so close to throwing in the towel. I’m sure this won’t be our last nursing struggle, but it feels good to have pushed through this one and hopefully I’ll be better prepared for the next struggle, whenever it comes.

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 1.45.37 PM

Parent birthdays are weird. My birthday is only a month before Dylan’s, and we both had weird feelings this year. We were so used to doing whatever we wanted on each other’s birthdays but when you have a little one involved you have to plan to much better. For me, I was torn between wanting to go out and celebrate and stay home with Kensie. Usually I would round up all my best friends and we’d go out for a night on the town… but I didn’t want to leave my baby yet. So I felt super torn and the whole week before, Dylan kept asking “What do you want to do for your birthday?” over and over again. I finally made a decision, which was go to a brewery for lunch and get a good IPA with my siblings. And since it was lunch time and things weren’t going to be wild, we took Kensington along. The best of both worlds! For Dylan’s birthday, he wanted to go to the movies, but again… how do you do that with a baby? Well, we found a way! Keep reading. 🙂

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 1.42.27 PM

Baby wearing is awesome. Like really awesome. I love being able to cuddle Kensington while we’re out and about, and I know she likes it more than being in her stroller. Sometimes I just carry her around the house while I’m getting some chores done, and she loves it. I think this will become even more of a “parenting win” whenever we have a second child because I cannot imagine juggling a kid and a baby. Yay for hands free!

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 1.43.21 PM

Ignore others’ opinions. Thankfully, we don’t have a lot of pushing from our friends and families to do one thing or the other, but the few times we have, we’ve learned to ignore those who might not agree with our parenting styles. There are certain things we’re set on and though we might do things differently than other parents, it doesn’t make our parenting any less important. I think we’re both learning to ignore the judgement because unfortunately, it’s just going to happen no matter what we or any other parents do.

Baby smiles/laughs will get you through it. I know that sounds so cheesy, but it’s so true. I know that no matter how stressed I am or what kind of day I’m having, Kensington will brighten it. Even if I’m stressed out because she won’t sleep (hello, four month sleep regression) or because she’s super fussy–all she has to do is give me one little smile and it makes it all worth it. Seriously though, baby laughs are life.

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 1.45.51 PM

Five things Kensington loves. 

Laughing. This baby laughs all the time and I seriously cannot get enough. Some days, I wake up to her laughing–she’s just laying in her bassinet laughing to herself. But I wouldn’t have it any other way. My most favorite time with her is tickling her until she laughs so hard she squeals. She is just the happiest. We were lucky enough to catch one of her first big laughs on video: click here to watch it! Oh and here’s another laughing session … I seriously can’t get enough of those giggles!

Tummy time.  This baby loves tummy time (generally). In fact, she’s even fallen asleep numerous times while we do it. It’s pretty cute, but sometimes I have to irritate her to get her to push up and roll from belly to her back. She also enjoys playing on her back a lot. She loves kicking and dancing on her back, and will even roll from her back onto her side. I don’t think it will be long before she rolls from back to belly!

Trips to the park. Not only does Kensington like this, our whole family does! It is very rare that Kensie will sleep during a park trip. Usually she is bug-eyed and smiling with all the sounds and smells. Even if I wear her, she likes to keep her head up and looking around. We love to get out and spend time together while walking.

Sitting up. Gosh, this kid does not like to be cradled anymore! You lay her down in your arms like a newborn and she will fuss and fuss at you until you pick her up. Sitting up is her new favorite thing. Though she hasn’t mastered it by herself just yet, she is pretty close. She just uses our fingers for balance. I’m excited for her to be able to sit up on her own, but for now I’m going to keep on loving her little hands needing mine for balance.

Being swaddled. Now this is kind of a funny one because we just recently stopped swaddling Kensington, and man does she miss it. I think her first night without a swaddle she probably only slept 4 hours. Now, about a week and a half later, she’s starting to get used to not having it. She definitely missed it there for awhile! But with her being so close to rolling over from back to belly, we are just no longer comfortable having her swaddled. Sorry baby K, but those swaddling days are now behind us. 😉

Five of our favorite moments with Kensington 2-4 months old. 

First time rolling: Because Kensington is a pretty lazy tummy timer, I really thought she was going to roll from back to belly first. But then one day, she just plopped right over from her belly to her back like she had been doing it for weeks, and of course I wasn’t ready at all! No camera handy. I did snap this picture one of the times after that and I only just recently got it on video.  I feel a little bittersweet about her rolling because what happens next… crawling?! I’m just not sure I’m ready for that yet. When will time slow down?

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 1.36.40 PM

First Valentine’s Day: Though it was a rather uneventful day, it was still fun to take some photos of Kensington’s first Valentine’s day. We got donuts and made a romantic steak dinner for ourselves, but Kensington just got good ole boring milk. I’m excited for when Kensington gets to take valentine’s to school and she can understand a little more about the day. But she did look awfully cute for her first one.

First St Patrick’s Day: This one was extra special because Dylan’s birthday is on St. Patrick’s Day! So of course, I had to take some pictures of her with Dylan and they turned out pretty darn cute. Carter’s even featured her on their website because she wore their “Lucky Girl” tshirt, because she really is one lucky girl to have Dylan as her dad.

First trip to the movies: Speaking of Dylan’s birthday! Remember how he wanted to go to the movies? Well, we made it happen! We took Kensington to the Goochland Drive-in Theater and she did great! Although, they normally play two movies and we only made it through one (Beauty and the Beast), she still didn’t get fussy at all until the end of the film. She slept right on Dylan’s chest and we were able to enjoy all the best things about the movies (popcorn, candy, and birthday cake) all in our car. It was a fun night!

Screen Shot 2017-04-12 at 1.38.15 PM

Starting to play with toys: Now that Kensington is out of the “sleep, nurse, poop, repeat” phase, she’s beginning to show much more interest in playing. She has a few “loveys” that she LOVES, like her little sheep and her moose. She’s starting to put things in her mouth and rattle toys around. She gets the biggest smiles on her face whenever she plays with her toys and it makes me so happy to see her having some fun.

And that is Kensington’s four-month update! I cannot believe we are TWO months away from her half birthday. A whole third of a year down … Why is it going so fast?!

 

Leave a Reply

