Reliving our first pregnancy, just one more time!

On April 5th, 2016 at 4 in the morning, Dylan and I found out we were going to be having a baby. We stood in the bathroom in such shock and excitement for as long as we could before I had to get to work by 4:30 AM.  I couldn’t stop smiling and all I wanted to do was be with Dylan so we could share in the excitement that was our future daughter. I didn’t even make it an hour at work before I texted him to tell him that my mind was going crazy and he told me his was too.

img_0009_

As soon as I got off work, I called my sister, Angie, to tell her. She didn’t believe me (apparently, I’ve joked about being pregnant a few times more than I should’ve). She ended up making me take a pregnancy test over FaceTime to prove it. She was so excited, especially since she had just had her second son, River, a few weeks before. We would each have babies born in 2016. How crazy and exciting! It was fun having someone to share the secret with. I sent Angie this picture of Dylan that evening because he couldn’t wipe that cheesy smile off his face.

fullsizer-4

Of course, she asked me what I was going to do about the wedding. I had no idea how we were going to pull it off. But we did, thanks to Kelly at The Wedding Rabbit.  I remember texting her a “911” text and she helped us get our plans together. I can even remember her coming up to me at the wedding and telling me to stop touching my belly so much (apparently, I was excited to be rubbing a belly that hadn’t even grown yet). We couldn’t have done it without her! Read all about our wedding and how we pulled it off here!

We took the secret onto our honeymoon, where we drove to Key West … I was nauseous, exhausted, and sober the whole time. Poor Dylan drove the whole way and to be honest, I slept a lot. But it was so worth it. Thank God we didn’t book a trip to the caribbean like we would’ve loved to if money wasn’t an issue. If we had, we probably would’ve had to cancel because of the Zika virus. It’s funny how things work out.

I loved that week with Dylan. We spent the whole trip just sharing our excitement and our ideas for our growing family. We always knew we weren’t going to wait long after we were married to try for a baby, so we were so excited.

And as soon as we got home, we told our families. We loved sharing the secret with them! And even though they wanted to tell everyone, we asked them to keep it our little family secret for just a little while longer.

We had our first ultrasound on May 5th, and our little baby looked just like a peanut! It was so special because that evening, we met up with our photographer, Molly, and she took our announcement photos.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 10.33.06 AM
Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 10.33.18 AM

Even though we had an ultrasound in our hands, we still weren’t ready to announce to everyone our big news. We wanted to get as close to 12 weeks as we could. We had a second ultrasound done at 12 weeks and we announced that evening. Baby Frank was waving at us! It was SO nice to finally be able to share our excitement with the world.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 10.33.50 AM

It’s so hard to believe our little Kensington was this small. But she was quickly growing in Momma’s tummy. And before I knew it, I had a bump! I remember meeting some friends for dinner, wearing a little sundress, and feeling the urge to suck in my stomach because it was poking out in the dress … And then, with excitement, I realized my tummy was becoming a bump!  🙂

THEN we got the big news that our baby was a girl! During the ultrasound, Kensie wasn’t in the right position, and it was the very last thing the ultrasound tech was able to get. I remember being so tense and nervous that we weren’t going to be able to find out when the tech said “Momma, relax, we will get it. I promise.” And we did! She took a picture of her and said, “any guesses?” I said … “Girl?” and she slow typed on the screen: “it’s a …… girl!”

Of course, I cried and so did Dylan. And then we sighed with relief because we had her name picked out already (we never actually agreed on a boy name, so we were relieved it was a girl). We waited a few days to test it out, and realized we loved it. Kensington Louise: our sweetest adventure yet.

We had a wonderful baby shower, got Kensington’s nursery all ready, and patiently waited for her to arrive. A woman’s body is truly an amazing vessel. I’m so proud, amazed, and grateful for my body and its capabilities. And when Kensington finally arrived, I couldn’t have had a better experience bringing her into this world. My body had never felt stronger.

This was my last “bump” picture and I took it on her due date in front of my father’s Christmas tree. I was actually in very early labor here; my contractions were 5 minutes apart but they weren’t quite strong enough to send me to the hospital yet. My bump looks totally different … you can see how much she dropped when you compare it to just a week earlier! She was making her way out.

I loved being pregnant, but having Kensington here is a whole other blessing. I love waking up with her every morning, protecting and loving her all day, and laying her to sleep at night. She is our whole entire world.  Everyone warns you about how hard it is, how much sleep you’ll lose, how exhausted you’ll be … and don’t get me wrong, that’s all so true … but to see her smile, hear that sweet giggle, and watch her grow into herself makes all of those “warnings” irrelevant. Every single night, I thank God for her, and as cheesy as it sounds, I can’t picture life before this little baby came in and changed everything for the better.

If you’ve been following our story, then this post was probably a little redundant, and I apologize for that. But I wanted a recap, a summary, and maybe just to relive her pregnancy one more time. So if you read it, thank you. We all need to reminisce at times.

Xoxo, Sarah.

 

8 thoughts on “Reliving our first pregnancy, just one more time!

  1. Christine Cox says:

    LOVE your story! I can remember exactly where I was (and my hubby for that matter) when I found out I was pregnant with both of my kids. I took both tests when he wasn’t even home (OPPS!) and the one time he was on a small man-cation hunting trip so the only person I could tell was my then 2 year old and she looked at me like I was nuts. Good memories for all!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sarah Frank says:

      AW! That is too adorable, I love that you told your 2 year old first! My husband is super mushy and would’ve been so mad at me if I had taken a test without him, at least for our first. I’m hoping I can surprise him perhaps with our second. 😉

      Like

  2. madrediem says:

    I love to reminisce! A lot of my blog posts have throw backs and old stories. I remember being pregnant and reading all of the pregnancy and birth stories I could find. Thank you for sharing!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

