Our Wedding Day

April 9th, 1988 has always held a special place in my heart. It was the day my mother and father said “I do” and began the 25 years of marriage they shared together. When Dylan proposed to me in the early part of 2015, less than a year after my mother died, I knew the big day would come with the tough confrontation of her absence. However, I wanted to face that directly. I didn’t want to pretend like she wasn’t there, because she would be there one way or another. I couldn’t get married without my mother. So when Dylan and I were deciding on a date, April 9th, 2016 couldn’t have been more perfect. To honor, to remember, and to never forget the beautiful woman that showed me how to be the perfect wife and mother I could only hope to be.

So April 9th, 2016 began with some rain, and then some snow, and also some 20 mph winds that wouldn’t quit unlike the rain and the snow eventually did. It also came with a room full of my favorite women drinking mimosas and eating a delicious breakfast as well as dancing together as we prepared to beautify ourselves for the day. Then, there would a fire in the garage underneath the building we were beautifying ourselves in, which would typically come with an alarm, some panic (okay a lot of panic), grabbing everything in sight that we would need for the day (the dresses, the shoes, the rings, the jewelry, the make up, etc.) and I, being the last one out because I was grabbing as much as I could, went from cool and collected bride to a panicked, nervous, flabbergasted mess.  So we stood on the sidewalk in tiny silk robes as the wind blew at 20 mph and the snow still fell slightly and I was yelling “OK we need a Plan B now.”

But we didn’t! We were let back into the building shortly thereafter, and we were perfectly okay. We continued our getting ready, though we were a little behind schedule now, but we made it to the venue before the boys did. I hid in the room I was told to, and waited. I wanted nothing more than to talk to Dylan. It was the longest we had ever gone without so much as a text, and I couldn’t wait to see him. When it was my turn to leave the hiding spot, my Dad met me in the foyer of the building, and he probably saw me panic more than I ever have in my entire life (even more than the fire). It was such an overwhelming moment… And my Dad handled my nerves perfectly by simply laughing at me as we began our walk down the aisle together.

I was crying before I made it to the alter and so was Dylan. He didn’t think he would cry, but I knew he would. But once we both got to hold each other’s hands, our tears ended and it was nothing but smiles from there on out. Philip delivered an amazing ceremony, we said “I do,” and we were swept away with the crowd into a night of great food, dancing, donuts, and memories that we will cherish for the rest of our lives.

We have big shoes to fill–both of our parents have only shown us strong, loving, supportive marriages–but we know that together we can do everything in life we’ve ever wanted to do.

The amazing Molly Scott Photo and Video gave us the best pictures and videos to cherish. Check out our highlight video here and enjoy the amazing pictures at the end of this post. If you like what you see, check out Molly’s website here! We honestly could not have been more happy to have her and Aaron capture our day. Enjoy the pictures!

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.47.59 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.48.11 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.48.27 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.48.53 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.49.07 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.49.18 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.49.35 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.49.47 AMScreen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.50.09 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.50.32 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.51.00 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.51.16 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.51.29 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.52.03 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.52.42 AM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 9.53.10 AM

 

 

 

One thought on “Our Wedding Day

Leave a Reply

