A time for change

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 1.11.50 PM

As everyone has noted, it is the best time of the year.  The leaves are finally raging with reds and oranges and there is a chill in the air that awakens something inside of all of us. This year, fall has definitely tested me in a new way.  It has tested my dedication, my motivation, and my optimism, all for the better.  I have always been told that I have a strong sense of positivity (something I got from my mother) but this year has pulled me up and down with positive and negative thinking.  This fall, I plan to put away those negative thoughts and focus on being optimistic.  This is where the motivation for this blog began. I hope it will be filled with all the things that make my fiancé Dylan and I happy.

So, some basics you should know about us:
(1) We are huge dog lovers. Beware of the outrageous number of pictures we will be posting out of love for our pups.
(2) We are getting married on my parent’s anniversary this April. My mother, who passed away in March of 2014, married my father on April 9th, 1988. Twenty-eight years later, Dylan and I will follow in their footsteps. Both of our parents have strong, love-filled, and inspiring relationships that we can only dream of having one day.
(3) Speaking of parents: we currently live with Dylan’s parents in Virginia Beach, Va. as we save money for our wedding and future in general.  We are so blessed to have such a helpful family supporting and helping us. We owe them more than I could every write into words and I am so thankful to be marrying into such an amazing family.
(4) Our first apartment together was in Richmond, Va., and currently I drive the two-hour commute to finish up my Masters degree in English at Virginia Commonwealth University. While we loved the area, we are excited to be living in Virginia Beach now.
(5) We are both students who also work full-time. Dylan is working on completing his Bachelors in Criminal Justice from Old Dominion University and will be graduating this May.  Dylan works 45+ hours a week while completing his school work online. He is one hardworking man, and I am so grateful to call him mine.
(6) I follow a low-carb, ketogenic-style diet. I am fairly new to it, only about 8 weeks in, but I feel amazing ever since starting it. I have more energy than I have had in years. If you have any questions about it, don’t hesitate to ask! Dylan does not follow this same way of eating as I do, but does strive to eat paleo-ish as often as possible, and more importantly he has cut out soda! I am so proud of him for that.

We are not sure what this blog will become, but my hope is that it will be something we can look back on and enjoy reading and rereading. Be on the lookout for more posts and I really do hope that you enjoyed reading this one.

Leave a Reply

